Happy Valley-Goose Bay

Supreme Court Trial Division Happy Valley - Goose Bay
Trial Division
214 Hamilton River Road
P.O. Box 3014, Station B
Happy Valley-Goose Bay, NL
A0P 1E0

Phone: (709) 896-7892
Fax: (709) 896-9212

History of the Court

Prior to 1984, there was no resident superior court justice in Labrador. Superior Court matters were handled either by on circuit, by the District Court Judge resident in Grand Falls-Windsor, or by a Supreme Court Judge on circuit from St. John’s, with the Court sitting at various sites in the Towns of Happy Valley-Goose Bay and Wabush/Labrador City

In 1984, the first resident Superior Court presence was created in Labrador with the establishment of a new District Court in what is now Happy Valley-Goose Bay.

Commencing in 1984, the District Court and the Supreme Court on circuit, sat in premises at 71 Markland Road, Happy Valley-Goose Bay. In 1986, the District Court merged into the Supreme Court.

Both Courts up until the time of their merger, and the Supreme Court after 1986, have continued to regularly circuit to Wabush/Labrador City where they sat (and the Supreme Court still sits) in the Provincial Building on Whiteway Drive, Wabush, in premises also occupied by the Provincial Court of Newfoundland and Labrador.

In 2004, the Supreme Court moved to newly constructed premises at 214 Hamilton River Road.

Judges who have served at the Judicial Centre of Happy Valley-Goose Bay have been Justice Seamus O’Regan, Justice David Orsborn, Justice Robert Hall, Justice Robert Fowler, Justice William Goodridge and Justice Robert Stack. Justice George L. Murphy is the present resident judge.

Courthouse Photos