Corner Brook

Supreme Court Trial Division Corner Brook
Trial Division
82 Mt. Bernard Avenue
P.O. Box 2006
Corner Brook, NL
A2H 6J8

Phone: (709) 637-2633
Fax: (709) 637-8036

History of the Court

The Supreme Court in Corner Brook was housed in the Sir Richard Squires Building, a 10-storey Government Building, from the years 1968 to 2010. The District Court, prior to its merger with the Supreme Court, was located on the 5th floor of this building. The Supreme Court continued to travel on circuit to Corner Brook and its offices and courtrooms were located on the 6th floor. The District Court merged with the Supreme Court in 1986 and subsequently occupied both the 5th and 6th floors.

The Supreme Court and Provincial Courts moved to the new courthouse located at 82 Mt. Bernard Avenue, Corner Brook in April of 2010. The official opening was held on May 3, 2010.

On June 1, 2010 the Supreme Court Family Division was expanded to the West Coast. The General Division and Family Division of the Supreme Court are both located in the new courthouse housed on separate floors.

Judges who have served at the Judicial Center of Corner Brook have been the Late Honourable P. Lloyd Soper, the Late Honourable Frederick R. Woolridge, Mr. Justice Denis Roberts, Madam Justice Gale Welsh, Mr. Justice Malcolm Rowe, Mr. Justice Richard LeBlanc, Madam Justice Gillian Butler, Mr. Justice Alan Seaborn, Mr. Justice William Goodridge and Mr. Justice David Peddle. The present resident judges are Mr. Justice David Hurley, Mr. Justice Brian Furey and Madam Justice Laura Mennie.

Courthouse Photos